#### **GENERAL PURPOSES AND LICENSING COMMITTEE**

Minutes of the meeting held on 7<sup>th</sup> April 2010

#### Present

Councillor Brian Toms (Vice-Chairman) (in the Chair) Councillors Nicholas Bennett JP, John Canvin, John Getgood, Julian Grainger, Mrs Anne Manning, Charles Rideout, Colin Smith, Mrs Brenda Thompson, Mrs Pauline Tunnicliffe and Stephen Wells,

### 131. NOMINATIONS FOR APPOINTMENT AS HONORARY ALDERMEN Report LDCS10062

Further to Minute 111 (16.2.10), the Member Working Group, which had been set up by this Committee, supported by the officers, had met on 9<sup>th</sup> March 2010 and had identified nominations of individuals who it was felt merited nomination for appointment as Honorary Aldermen.

The list of nominations recommended to this Committee were set out in Appendix 2 to the report of the Director of Legal, Democratic and Customer Services. All the nominees had indicated that they would accept appointments as Honorary Aldermen and the nominations were supported by Members. The Appointment Ceremony of Honorary Aldermen for the Municipal Year 2010/11 would be held at a special meeting of the Council convened immediately before the Annual Council meeting on 19<sup>th</sup> May 2010.

RECOMMENDED that the nominated individuals listed in the attached Appendix (former Councillor Mrs Ingrid Buckley, Councillor Mrs Jenny Hillier, Councillor Mrs Carole Hubbard, Councillor Gordon Jenkins, former Councillor Maurice Kenwood and former Councillor Arthur Wilkinson) be recommended for appointment as Honorary Aldermen for consideration at a special meeting of the Council to be held on 19<sup>th</sup> May 2010.

### **DECISION REQUIRED OF COUNCIL**

Council to approve the above recommendation

# APPENDIX 1

# NOMINATIONS FOR APPOINTMENT

## AS HONORARY ALDERMEN

NAME	LENGTH OF SERVICE AS A COUNCILLOR	<b>POSITIONS HELD</b>
Mrs Ingrid A Buckley	May 1994 – May 2006 Represented Bickley Ward	Mayor; Deputy Mayor
Mrs Jenny Hillier	July 1974 – May 2010 Represented Farnborough/Farnborough and Crofton Ward	Mayor; Deputy Mayor; Deputy/Acting Leader of the Council
Mrs Carole Hubbard	March 1992 – May 2010 Represented West Wickham North/West Wickham Ward	Mayor
Gordon Jenkins	April 1996 – May 2010 Represented Bickley Ward	Chairman of Development Control Committee
Maurice B Kenward	May 1967 – March 1985 Represented Bickley Ward	Mayor; Chairman of General Purposes/Recreation/Social Services Committees
Arthur J Wilkinson	May 1974 – May 1990 Represented Plaistow and Sundridge Ward	Deputy Mayor; Chairman of Finance and Staff (Scrutiny)/ Social Services Committees